Sixth love language

Gary Chapman has written a book titled, “The Five Love Languages”. He uses this book to talk about the five ways in which we express love:

  • Acts of service
  • Quality time
  • Physical touch
  • Words of affirmation
  • Gifts

The book discusses how to understand how you choose to receive and give love and how one should understand how their partner show and receive love as well. This allows for better communication and compassion in a relationship.

However, I would contest that Gary Chapman being a non desi doesn’t understand the sixth love language – “Making food”. Yes it is an act of service, but it is so much more.

It’s nourishing others when they are weak or too busy to take care of themselves. It’s desi parents cutting fruit for their children as they study or work.

It’s your partner making you tea or soup when you’re sick.

It’s you making a cake to celebrate your friends’ special moments. It’s making a carrot cake, that you hate because you know your friend will love it.

It’s you taking over cookies to your friend’s house just because.

I am not a great cook, hell, you could even contest that I am not even a good cook. However, I do enjoy it. Not just cooking, but planning the menu, setting the table, and even cleaning up. I even enjoy hearing my friends lie to my face and tell me the food is good, even if it isn’t 😛

Leave a Reply Cancel reply